LE19 - Close call in final four seats for Rathfarnham-Templeogue area

By Hayden Moore

THERE was a dogfight for the final four seats in Rathfarnham-Templeogue as Fianna Fáil Cllr Paul Foley lost his seat by a margin of just 44 votes, while his party-mate Yvonne Collins got in just ahead of him.

Major delays over the course of the weekend led to Rathfarnham-Templeogue being the last ward to finalise its seven seats, with crew in Citywest already having much of the counting centre disassembled when the ward finally got across the line well after 10pm Sunday night.

Elections 18 1

Cllr Pamela Kearns (Labour)  with Cllr Mick Duff and former councillor Breeda Bonner

It went down to the wire with it ultimately coming down to the process of elimination as five candidates awaited the ninth count to see who would fill the remaining four seats based on the re-distribution of Labour’s Paddy Cosgrave’s votes.

Fine Gael’s Mary Seery-Kearney and David McManus and Social Democrat’s Carly Bailey all had their names called out before Yvonne Collins, Paul Foley’s Fianna Fáil party-mate, got into the seventh seat.

Collins squeezed past Foley by a margin of just 44 votes, picking up 221 votes on the final count.

Paul Foley had seemed a shoe-in to retain his seat when the first count for the ward was announced and it placed him fourth on first preference votes, just over 800 away from the quota of 2543.

Also on that first count, in what was a shock across the weekend for the entire country as the Green Party made a resurgence, William Priestly was elected on first preference votes alone.

Local Elections 2019 9 1

Re-elected Ronan McMahon (Ind) with his son Niall 

First-time candidate, Priestley, eclipsed the quota by more than 300 votes and became the first to take a seat in the new Rathfarnham-Templeogue ward – and was quickly followed by Independent Ronan McMahon and Labour’s Pamela Kearns retaining their seats.

With a whopping 49.2 percent turnout in that area, it was among the highest in South Dublin County Council. 

Candidates elected

Rathfarnham Templeogue (7 seats)
1st William Priestley (GP)
4th Ronan McMahon (Ind)
7th Pamela Kearns (Lab)
9th Mary Seery Kearney (FG)
9th Carley Bailey (SD)
9th David McManus (FG)
9th Yvonne Collins (FF)

Prev LE19 - SDCC election round-up as 40 councillors prepare for new five-year term
Next LE19 - Four of the old guard remain intact as former Mayor drops out on seventh count

  • 2020 Sees The Echo celebrating 40 years
  • eBeauty - S.O.S Skincare
  • The Echo 2019 Sports Star of the Year - Jack Woolley
  • eBeauty - Victoria Secret Runway ready
  • Double gold medal winner at the EYOF Rhasidat Adeleke receives a huge welcome home

We use cookies to improve your experience on our site, personalise content, provide social media features, analyse our traffic, show you relevant advertising and to target and report on ads. By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies that may process personal data for these purposes.