Seven councillors from South County Dublin seek Seanad positions

By Echo Reporter

SEVEN South Dublin county councillors are contesting the Seanad Éireann elections after being nominated by members of the Oireachtas, their own parties or an official external nominating body.

Sinn Féin’s Fintan Warfield and Fine Gael councillor Anne-Marie Dermody, who ran in the recent General Elections, are both running on the Culture and Education panel – which has five seats up for grabs.

The Seanad 

Rathfarnham Independent councillor Deirdre O’Donovan and Fine Gael councillor William Lavelle, who represents the Lucan area, have both been nominated to the Industrial and Commercial panel and will fight for votes to secure one of the nine seats available.

Sinn Féin Tallaght Central councillor Maire Devine has been nominated to the Labour panel, which has 11 seats.

The nominees have now embarked on a nationwide canvass of their county council peers in their bids to claim a seat in the 25th Seanad.

Prev Gardai issue warning as heavy rain expected tonight
Next Gold Cup bet by groom on whether his bride is on time
  • Return of the flying ants!
  • Irish football supporters came out in force to remember Jack Charlton
  • Crowds gather to pay respect to former chairperson Brendan Moran
  • HSE launch Covid-19 Tracker App
  • New South Dublin County Mayor - Councillor Ed O'Brien

We use cookies to improve your experience on our site, personalise content, provide social media features, analyse our traffic, show you relevant advertising and to target and report on ads. By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies that may process personal data for these purposes.