Egan Family honoured at Canoeing Ireland Awards

IT WAS a memorable occasion for the Egan Family at the recent Canoeing Ireland Awards Gala Night held in the Lucan Spa Hotel.

While Jenny Egan scooped both the ‘Senior Female Canoe Sprint Athlete’ and ‘Canoe Marathon Athlete of the Year’ accolades, her brother Peter was declared the Senior Male Canoe Marathon Athlete of the Year and their father Tom was honoured for his hard work with the ‘Volunteer of the Year’ Award.

Egan family honoured 060220

Peter Egan, Moira Aston CEO of Canoeing Ireland, Angie, Tom and Jenny Egan, Jon Simmons, National Canoe Sprint Coach and Jon Mackey, Canoeing Ireland High Performance Director

It was a very proud moment for Tom, who has committed his life to the sport of canoeing for the past 50 years, beginning his career in Grade Ten Canoe Club in Lucan.

He himself competed in slalom events and began volunteering by helping beginners and juniors progress in the sport and attend events around the country.


From this he progressed into becoming the National Team Manager for Canoe Slalom Ireland.

Tom then decided to move his focus from Canoe Slalom to Canoe Sprint and Marathon and moved to Salmon Leap Canoe Club in Leixlip.

Alongside this Tom has also been a member of the Canoe Sprint Team Ireland Committee and is the longest serving Team Manager of Canoe Sprint Ireland to date- a post he still holds.

What’s more, he has been involved in the comment-ary of the International Liffey Descent throughout the years at Straffan weir, Lucan weir and the finish at Islandbridge.

Delighted at the recognition he received at the Canoe Ireland Awards, Tom told The Echo “I was absolutely gobsmacked. There are so many people doing great work in Canoe Ireland.

“What I do, I do for the love of the sport but I couldn’t do the work without the support of the athletes and my family, particularly my wife.

“I’d like to thank Canoe Ireland, the CEO Moira Ashton and John Mackey, the performance director and all the Board along with Peter Thomas of Salmon Leap” he added.

There was more good news for Salmon Leap as Eabha Ní Drisceoil picked up the ‘Junior Sprint and Marathon Paddler of the Year’ Award while Odhran McNally was declared the Senior Whitewater Race Paddler of the Year.

Prev Kelly takes bronze in Euros
Next Tallaght hosts Mixed World Cup

  • The Echo January Competition winners!
  • Sea of Change Choir perform at the European Parliament
  • GE2020 - CRC Firhouse
  • GE2020 - Citywise Education
  • GE2020 - TU Dublin - Tallaght Campus

We use cookies to improve your experience on our site, personalise content, provide social media features, analyse our traffic, show you relevant advertising and to target and report on ads. By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies that may process personal data for these purposes.