Faughs Under 16s land Division One title

By Stephen Leonard

FAUGHS secured the Under 16 Division One Hurling crown following a 6-18 to 0-12 victory over Naomh Barrog in Tymon Park on Wednesday night.

The team has now won three of the last four Division One titles they have contested, topping their group at Under 13, 15 and now 16 degree.

Faughs U16s 1

Faughs secured the Under 16 Division One

And they completed the job in convincing fashion against Barrog against whom Jack McGovern opened the scoring with the first point in what would amount to a personal tally of 2-2 by the final whistle.

James O’Brien and Niall Fitzgibbon also got on the scoresheet before McGovern registered their first goal to help open up a five-point gap.

Further points from McGovern and O’Brien extended that advantage to seven before the lively Scott McConnell pounced for a goal to make it a 10-point game by the halftime recess.

While Barrog tapped over three points early in the second half, these where sandwich between a Conor Curran goal for Faughs and another for McConnell who produced a decisive finish to the net.

With Faughs in full control now, the scores continued to rack up, McGovern carding his second goal,  after which midfielder Michael Moore also hit the net and O’Brien, Fitzgibbon, Sean Cooney and Liam Lynch Crowe all struck over the bar.

While the Faughs forwards were doing their job the team’s defence also delivered with Sean Mc Donald and captain Henry Horne leading the way.

The full back line was well marshalled by Thomas Ryan with the midfield battle being won by O’Brien and Moore.

The team’s focus now turns to completing the double and securing the only trophy to elude them- the championship- having fallen at the final hurdle on the last two occasions.

Prev “She’s got all the other medals. She wants an Olympic medal” Harrington's coach on Tokyo 2020
Next “The whole team will have to work their socks off”- Clifford

  • Return of the flying ants!
  • Irish football supporters came out in force to remember Jack Charlton
  • Crowds gather to pay respect to former chairperson Brendan Moran
  • HSE launch Covid-19 Tracker App
  • New South Dublin County Mayor - Councillor Ed O'Brien

We use cookies to improve your experience on our site, personalise content, provide social media features, analyse our traffic, show you relevant advertising and to target and report on ads. By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies that may process personal data for these purposes.