Masters delight for Donore at National Road Relays

By Stephen Leonard

DONORE Harriers captured the Men’s Masters title at this year’s Athletics Ireland Road Relay Championships in Raheny on Sunday.

John Dunne, Michael McMahon and Emmet O’Briain combined to take the win in a time of 19:34 minutes, bettering that of closest rivals Rathfarnham WSAF by a mere two seconds.

Donores Michael McMahon Emmet OBriain and John Dunne 

Donore’s John Travers again turned in a great performance, equalling Mick Clohisey’s record on the three-mile leg with a time of 14:04.

Making up the team for the runners-up were Ronan Kearns, Barry Minnock and Paul Fleming while completing the podium line-up in this division was Newbridge AC.

In the Women’s Masters contest, Sportsworld AC’s team of Catherine Bambrick, Ruth Kelly and Stephanie Bergin finished up in fifth position with a total time of 23:54, 35 seconds behind winners Sli Cualann AC.

Winners of the Men’s National Road Relay title last season, Donore had to settle for fifth place this time round.

Eric Keogh, John Dunne, John Travers and Ray Hynes made up the team which put up a strong show, but it was Raheny Shamrock who ran out comfortable winners.

DSD Athletic Club finished up fourth in this division in a time of 38:04 with Emmet Jennings, Joe Sweeney, Brandon Hargreaves and Mark Conway all performing very well.

Prev Rapid Russell too hot for Hyland
Next Woolley earns Spanish silver and world ranking points

  • 2020 Sees The Echo celebrating 40 years
  • eBeauty - S.O.S Skincare
  • The Echo 2019 Sports Star of the Year - Jack Woolley
  • eBeauty - Victoria Secret Runway ready
  • Double gold medal winner at the EYOF Rhasidat Adeleke receives a huge welcome home

We use cookies to improve your experience on our site, personalise content, provide social media features, analyse our traffic, show you relevant advertising and to target and report on ads. By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies that may process personal data for these purposes.