Tallaght MA Open takes the spotlight in Abbottstown

TALLAGHT Martial Arts played host to the first ever kickboxing tournament to be held in the National Sports Campus in Abbottstown last weekend.

The TMA Open has been running for 18 years, being initially staged in Thomas Davis Sports Hall before moving to Citywest Hotel and now the Sports Campus, subsequently increasing the profile of the sport.

TMA 6 TMA Ladies fill the podium

Jodie Browne, Aoife Bailey and Zara Jones. (Photos by Liz White Photos)

This year’s tournament attracted more than 400 competitors from as young as six years all the way through veteran divisions in beginner, intermediate and advanced categories.

Again Tallaght MA was well represented in all categor-ies and emerged with a total tally of 26 Gold, 18 Silver and 21 Bronze. 

The medal winners for the club last weekend were Isabel Golding (Gold U6 Point fighting and Light Contact and Silver U8 Point Fighting and Light Contact), Amy Comerford (Silver U6 Points and Light Contact), Joshua Potter (Bronze U8 Novice Points), Joshua McGuinness (Bronze U8 Novice Points), Tadhg McGuinness (Bronze U8 Novice Points), Edward Comerford (Gold U8 Advanced Points and Silver U10 Points), Eoin Finn (Silver U8 Advanced Points and Silver U8 Light Contact), Lily Delany (Gold U10 Advanced Light Contact and Silver U10 Advanced Points), Selsabille Aidi (Gold U10 Intermediate Points and Bronze Advanced Points), Nathan Clarke (Gold U10 Advanced Points and Gold U10 Light Contact), James Holden (Gold U10 Points), Cillian McArdle Bronze (Advanced U10 light Contact  and Points), Jack Holden (Gold U12 Points), Anna White (Gold U12 Advanced Points), Leo Golding (Bronze U12 light contact), Callum O’Connor (Gold U14 Advanced light Contact), Jade Corcoran (Bronze U14 Intermediate points and Silver Beginner Points), Dillon King (Gold U14 Intermediate Points and Silver Advanced Light Contact), Cian Colvin (Gold U14 Intermediate Points and Bronze Advanced Points), Dylan McClelland (Silver U14 Advanced Points), Louis McGlinchey (Silver Traditional Forms and Bronze U14 Novice Points), Ellen McCaughey (Gold U14 Light Contact, Silver U14 Points and Gold U16 Points), Sabrina Aidi (Gold U14 Intermediate Points), Sarah Cassidy (Bronze U14 Advanced Points and Bronze U14 Musical Forms), Nate Kelly (Bronze U16 Advanced Points), Aoife Bailey (Bronze U16 Points), Jodie Browne (Gold U16 Advanced Points and Gold U18 Advanced Points), Zara Jones (Gold U16 Advanced Light Contact and Silver U16 Advanced Points), Ryan Birkhead (Silver U16 Advanced Light Contact, Bronze U18 Advanced Points & Bronze Junior Grand Champion), Nicole Bannon (Gold Ladies Points -60kg), Lea Farrell (Bronze Ladies Points -60kg), Keri Browne (Gold Ladies Points +65kg and Silver Ladies Points -60kg), Fergus Daly (Gold Masters Points), Cian Jones (Gold U8 Points and Bronze U8 Light Contact), Max Lennon (Silver U14 Advanced Points and Gold U14 Open Hand Forms) and Eryn Birkhead (Bronze U14 Advanced Points and Bronze U16 Advanced Points).

Prev Templeogue aiming to hit ground running against Star
Next BMA haul home honours

  • The Echo January Competition winners!
  • Sea of Change Choir perform at the European Parliament
  • GE2020 - CRC Firhouse
  • GE2020 - Citywise Education
  • GE2020 - TU Dublin - Tallaght Campus

We use cookies to improve your experience on our site, personalise content, provide social media features, analyse our traffic, show you relevant advertising and to target and report on ads. By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies that may process personal data for these purposes.