More Dublin Championship heartbreak for Ballyboden

By Daire Walsh

BALLYBODEN St Enda’s suffered further heartache in Parnell Park this evening.

Following their five-point defeat to Cuala in last weekend’s county hurling decider, the Firhouse Road club again came off second best against an impressive Ballymun Kickhams side, losing 1-19 to 0-8 in this evening’s Dublin Senior One Football Championship decider.

Ballyboden V Ballymun 11 1

Ryan Basquel (Left) and Carl Keeley (Image: Paddy Barrett)

Fresh from his appearance in the same venue seven days earlier, Conal Keaney got defending champions ‘Boden off the mark with a point inside the opening 60 seconds.

While Ballymun subsequently built up a head of steam, ‘Boden twice levelled matters through Keaney and Ryan Basquel.

However, a fired-up ‘Mun ruled the roost either side of the first half water break. Dean Rock - in particular - was in imperious form, contributing an outstanding opening period haul of eight points to propel the northside outfit into a deserved 0-14 to 0-4 interval lead.

A brace of Dillon Keating points increased the gap between the teams on the resumption, before Colm Basquel ended a barren scoring spell of 34 minutes for ‘Boden with a routine free.

Anthony Rainbow’s charges battled admirably during the final-quarter as Keaney and Ryan Basquel posted unanswered scores.

The latter proceeded to trade points with opposite number Fiach Andrews, but Brendan Hackett’s outstanding Ballymun were eager to finish with a flourish. Dean Rock buried a stoppage-time penalty after Shane Clayton had fouled Andrew McCaul, while Andrews and Jason Whelan added points to leave Ballyboden 14 points adrift at the end.

BALLYMUN KICKHAMS: E Comerford; P McMahon, E Dolan, D Conlon; L Young, J Small, C Keeley; A Elliott, J McCarthy; D Keating, C McCormack, C O’Tighe; P Small, F Andrews, D Rock. Subs: J Whelan for O’Tighe (50), A McCaul for Keating (53), E Hill for McCormack (58), B Ashton for Elliott (60).

BALLYBODEN ST ENDA’S: M McNamee; S Clayton, R McDaid, K Kennedy; B Bobbett, D Nelson, C Flaherty; MD Macauley, A Waters; D O’Reilly, W Egan, C Basquel; R McGarry, R Basquel, C Keaney. Subs: D O’Mahony for Bobbett, J Holland for Nelson, A Flood for O’Reilly (all h-t), S Lambert for C Basquel (50), T Hayes for McGarry (55).

Prev Coronavirus: No further deaths and 430 new cases
Next Coronavirus: No further deaths and 390 new cases
  • Fire in Cookstown Industrial Estate
  • Looking to #ShopLocal?
  • Take a virtual tour around Greenhills Community College with some of its students!
  • #ThinkShopSupportLocal
  • The Square celebrates 30 years in Tallaght

We use cookies to improve your experience on our site, personalise content, provide social media features, analyse our traffic, show you relevant advertising and to target and report on ads. By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies that may process personal data for these purposes.