Boden back on the brink

By William O'Connor

ALL EYES will be on Portlaoise on Sunday when Ballyboden St Enda’s go head to head with Carlow side Eire Og in the Leinster Senior Football Championship decider.

Both teams have enjoyed impressive results in their journey with Eire Og recording big wins over Sarsfields from Kildare and Portlaoise.

1850188 compressor

Darren O’Reilly of Ballyboden St Enda's during the launch of the AIB Leinster GAA Club Finals at LOETB Centre of Excellence, Clonminam in Portlaoise

Boden on the other hand had a slightly easier path to the final – beating Newtown Blues in their first game followed up with a well-deserved win over Garrycastle from Westmeath.

With their opponents recording impressive wins over Sarsfields and Portlaoise, the highly fancied Firhouse Road side can take nothing for granted if they are to repeat their success of 2015.

Ballyboden boast no shortage of experience with a number of players in that all-conquering 2015 squad still in action for the Dubliners.

Indeed Anthony Rainbow’s men have remained unbeaten this year after 24 outings so far, a draw in the league with Kilmacud Crokes accounting for theri only dropped points.

Former Dublin player Declan O’Mahony is key in midfield while Darren O’Reilly in the half forwards is a player with plenty of experience under his belt.

The Basquel brothers Ryan and Collie have been superb while Ross McGarry and Warren Egan can also prove major headache to opposition.

The Boden bench has also had a key role to play with club stalwart Conal Keaney coming on in the semi-final along with Michael Darragh Macauley.

Enda’s defence is well-marshalled with Robbie McDaid, Brian Bobbett and Shane Clayton leading by example.

Yet the three-in-a-row Carlow champions have surprised many with their impressive wins and they will be no pushovers this weekend.

Once the kingspins in Leinster during the 1990s, Eire Og will be looking to the likes of Christopher Blake in attack along with Ross Dunphy to deliver the goods.

Niall Quinlan is another lively player in their attack while Darragh O’Brien, Eoghan Ruth and Ross Dunphy could pose problems.

Prev Triple bronze for Tallaght in World C’ships
Next Lucan emerge U15 Division One champs

  • Walking miracle Karlee (8) thanks people for saving her life
  • Return of the flying ants!
  • Irish football supporters came out in force to remember Jack Charlton
  • Crowds gather to pay respect to former chairperson Brendan Moran
  • HSE launch Covid-19 Tracker App

We use cookies to improve your experience on our site, personalise content, provide social media features, analyse our traffic, show you relevant advertising and to target and report on ads. By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies that may process personal data for these purposes.